top of page
Search

American Horror Story: A Drawn Out Flop of a Season

Updated: Feb 11, 2023


Reviews by:

  • @tylersnerdy_review


RATE THIS SERIES

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

I’m at a complete loss, and not in the good way this time. I’ve only seen the very first season of American Horror Story and each season since 1984 to now. This is by far the worst season of a continuous show I’ve seen. Look, trust me, I know how horrible the aids crisis was, I know how many lives it took. And at a certain point you have to look at the screen and say “I fucking get it!” I’m severely held up on this two part season finale which is devoid of any satisfactory conclusion and doesn’t drill home a message but rather beats you violently over the head with half assed artsy metaphors that just come off bland and tasteless. I mean, that second half of the finale is essentially a really long music video. Parts of this season were quite interesting but overall the season is just violently unhinged. I mean hell, the opening scene alludes to the aids crisis (though it’s obvious what it is) and then it gets brought up (barely) throughout the season and is finally focused on in the finale as we watch multiple characters slowly die of aids. It’s truly the most depressing thing I’ve ever seen, not a single person gets anything near a happy ending. They just tried to shove too much into this, it either needed to be a short season or just something else. If you couldn’t figure out how to do an entire season about aids, then just do a season about violence against queer people. And even then, that story was pointless because the person doing it was queer himself. The scariest thing about this season was the first episode when we thought a straight serial killer was targeting queer people and then the police were just not giving a shit. That’s a fucking season, and it wouldn’t need to be tied down to the 80’s. And honestly I don’t want to tag any of the actors because I know they’re all good but you’d never tell from this season. All of them are so god damn depressed for 10 fuckin episodes straight, watching two episodes every week felt more like a chore rather than something I looked forward to. American Horror Story NYC could have been so much better, could have been a story it’s fans would have really connected to had the writers just picked one thing. 6/10. -Tyler.


RATE THIS REVIEW

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

8 views0 comments

Tyler Jenkins

Link

rnixon37

Link

Sohan Sahoo

Link

bottom of page