top of page
Search

The Overrides: Through Mud and Blood



"What difference does it make to the dead, the orphans, and the homeless, whether the insane destruction is carried out in the name of totalitarianism or in the holy name of liberty or democracy?"


Mahatma Gandhi


Society sh! T is Has it ever been good for its people? I can't remember a time when we were truly happy in this pit of despair called reality. Just look around you and tell me: are things going well? Are we feeling at peace? I don't know but I think most of us are cynical, pessimistic or have simply lost our will to change what we don't like. We have become dazzled and dazzled by the mortal happiness caused by wealth and power. We are not under their control, they control us. They do since their invention and discovery. Decay's twin, always present, always ruins our lives. He has so many faces that it is difficult to defeat him. They are in every aspect of our lives, they are in symbiosis with us like parasites. This aspect of our life, which is truly a pillar, has affected everyone. Thinkers and artists, all have expressed their position on this matter. I'm talking about people like Baudelaire, Kubin, Balmont, Beardsley, Wilde, Pirandello, Delville, Carrère, Chambers, and Stenbock. They have even created a cultural movement called Decadentism. But, after that, things did not get better and this toxic society has been an inspiration for various singers, poets and more.


Among them is an American independent band from Long Beach, California called The Overrides. Among them are members of Pee N' Blood and Dime Runner. After taking a brief break in 2015, singer/guitarist Cam Mosavian began writing new songs and reworking unreleased tracks he'd been producing over the years, The Clash & The Ramones Meet Fugazi & The 90s described as laying the groundwork for a new band. Option.

He quickly enlisted the services of longtime bandmate and drummer Parker PJ Johnson (also from Pee N' Blood and Dime Runner), and soon after his brother Brando on bass. The band then conducted a lengthy audition process to find the right second guitarist to compliment their sound. It immediately took off as soon as Denzil Dunn entered the studio, bringing not only his own unique vocals, but custom made equipment.

For the next two years the band privately developed the sound that would eventually become The Overrides. Since playing their first show at the Doll Hut in Anaheim on March 31, 2018, The Overrides have shared the stage with bands such as: Bum, D.I., J.F.A., Narcoleptic Youth, D.F.


His interest in music began at an early age, as Cam states:


"Where do I start? Maybe as a kid I was listening to music on the radio while driving with my mom. Some of the first dreams I remember were soundtracks by the Beach Boys, Neil Diamond, and Stevie Wonder. were. Every time I hear "I Called to Say I Still Love You" or "Good Vibrations" I still get chills. Those are perfectly composed songs"


Which influenced their musical journey and shaped the band's inspirations:


"My biggest inspiration is the love of music itself. Music was and is a very important part of me and my life. I love many different types of music from classical to jazz, but punk rock gave me a place to call home. The number one band that represented/represented the most to me is Fugazi. Since I first saw them live at the Palace in LA in 99 where they blew the fuck away out of me, they will always be my favorite band.


Inspirations that resonate in his musical tastes include Sew Fisted Fiend by Fugazi, London Calling by The Clash and Dear Prudence by The Beatles, and his media enthusiasms, such as Terminator 2, The Big Lebowski, The Three Amigos, Westworld, Arrested Development is more. Breaking Bad.


Today we're going to be analyzing their latest EP Attention, the follow up to Brain As A Fist, which includes an original creative process:


"My creative process for songwriting usually starts with an acoustic guitar, then from that session I'll decide on a lick or chord progression I want to expand on. Once I'm in that flow it's It flows naturally. Sometimes I'll build music around some song I've already written, and other times I'll have an idea of what I want to write a song about, then I'll build it around that idea. The music and the lyrics are all in mind. The new EP "Meditation" is four songs that form almost like a concept album. Each song has almost identical chords and very closely related chord progressions So for these particular four songs, the first song I wrote was "Part Two" which was an instrumental, and I loved the chords and the progression (I think it's one of the best progressions I've ever written) so much that I Used it again in another song but with a different tempo and tempo. Then I did it again because why not?"


An EP that's about the hardship of life, as Cam explains to us:


"The main theme of the album revolves around living your day to day life and watching the crap that constantly surrounds you – things like ads in your face every second, trying to buy your attention. Or sometimes you're just a slave to the system." feel like, where every time you think you've gone a little too far there's something that rears it's ugly head and drags you back a few steps. I think song-wise it's an emotional and aggressive subject matter, and it makes sense to me that I wrote most of the music and lyrics for the song a while ago when I was going through a difficult period in my life".



The first song from this EP is Attention. It starts with an interesting bass riff. It reminds me of 90's rock songs. It is very attractive. It maintains a consistent tempo throughout the song. It slows down a bit in the middle to get up to speed. It's a great song, a strong way to start an EP.


The following is Shout. Like the previous song, the beginning of this song is not strong but after some time it picks up the pace. This article is about the need to let go of all your anger, rage and stress in order to free yourself from the burden caused by such feelings. It is smaller than the first one but I find it more attractive.


Then there is part two. Which is the best start ever. It sounds like a transition track and lacks lyrics. It fits perfectly into the album because, I think, it represents a break of sorts from the style of the other tracks. The ending is weird. Overall I think the name is what makes this the strangest track of this EP, as it is not clear which part one is (is it a song or a theme or...).


And last but not the least is the Observant Servant. It is different from other tracks as it starts with a fast tempo set by the drums. He put it in a pleasing manner but the subject here is quite difficult. I mean, they reflect about the fact that we are all slaves to something and no one can escape. It's a dark way to end this EP but it sure is one you'll remember the experience with. Epiphany is hard to accept, especially when we become accustomed to illusions.


This is an interesting band that deserves to be acknowledged for their style and themes. This EP looks more like a teaser and it is mouth watering. And they're already working on something new, as Cam says:


"I just finished scoring my first feature film, so I'm so excited to see where it goes! My best friend Josh Rouse wrote and directed it and it was so crazy that I let it score"


An interesting turn of events for a band with simple but laudable goals:


"Our goal as a band is to write and play the music we love to play first and foremost, maybe even meet interesting people and kick some ass while doing it. We hope that what we're doing People like him so we can leave it." Though working a full day job and doing music full time, let's be honest haha. But seriously we just love music - we love playing it, listening to it, talking about it and being in a band is a way to be part of the conversation, to be a small part of the conversation, to add to the conversation in your own not-entirely-irrelevant-way"


We can't wait to see how his next project turns out.



RATE THIS BAND

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3












6 views0 comments

Tyler Jenkins

Link

rnixon37

Link

Sohan Sahoo

Link

bottom of page