top of page
Search

Armageddon Time: A Decent Film With Too Much To Say

Updated: Feb 28, 2023


Reviews by:

  • @tylersnerdy_review

RATE THIS MOVIE

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

I feel really bad not because I slacked off reviewing this but because I completely forgot I didn’t review it. I swear I had and then I looked at my posts and didn’t see it so here we are. This is my late review for Armageddon Time. After over a week I still don’t really know how I feel about the movie, it felt like they were trying to tell so many stories at once. And I still don’t know why they told a racism story from a white kid’s perspective especially since it seems like none of them learn a lesson about it by the end. Anthony Hopkins does a great job just as he always does, his character was truly the star of the show and I think we needed more scenes with him. Anne Hathaway is okay, just felt weird because this is unlike any character of her’s I’ve seen before but she does a good job with it. Banks Repeta and Jaylin Webb are really good and both have a lot great chemistry together but they do a bad job showing us Webb’s character’s life. We have no idea why he acts out so much when the movie is about the friendship of the two boys. I think a lot more time should have been dedicated to them together and Webb alone. Jeremy Strong has a couple good scenes but otherwise is just a dormant beast for the rest of the film. I think some solid work is done to connect the characters and the audience with anti-semitism, like changing names and fitting in, but they left that out of the trailers and really marketed this as a story of racism and family dynamics when it should have been bigotry in general. I think where it shines is in the family dynamics aspect but then they never spend too much time with other family members to let those dynamics sink in. It’s mostly just Repeta’s character with his Mom, Dad, and Grandpa, the others are left out of any meaningful development. At the end of the day they try to squeeze too many social issues into one movie. Not saying it’s an impossible task but these writers just couldn’t juggle it all at once. I was thinking an eight out of ten on this but I think I’ve talked myself down to a 7/10 score. It’s not bad, but it could have been a lot better with some slight reworking of the character dynamics and dialogue. -Tyler.


RATE THIS REVIEW

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

1 view0 comments

Tyler Jenkins

Link

rnixon37

Link

Sohan Sahoo

Link

bottom of page