top of page
Search

Bros: A Color By Number Rom Com But Make It Gay

Updated: Mar 1, 2023


Reviews by:

  • @tylersnerdy_review

RATE THIS MOVIE

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

Last night I made it out to the theater to see Bros and props to Universal for being the first major studio to make a gay romantic comedy. The amount of time I stopped and thought to myself “wow, this is really happening” was way too often. It just makes me so very happy knowing we have a place in this world and that our love can be appreciated on a scale this big as well. As much as I really loved this movie I don’t think it’s going to be very accessible to certain audiences. I know it’s wrong of me to say but there’s probably too much gay sex in this, at least, the type that they do. It needs to be some kissing and slight undressing before jumping to it being over. But each of the scenes in this movie are a bit too much compared to even most straight rom coms. And Billy Eichner might not have been the best choice for the lead, he’s very intense and forcing a lot on a lot of people very quickly. Like his scene at the dinner table with Aaron’s parents is going to make certain people pretty angry. Speaking of Aaron, Luke Macfarlane is pretty good as the straight acting gay guy, as essentially the king of straight Christmas rom coms it’s nice to see him get to be himself for a role. I was convinced he wasn’t actually gay but after a quick search he is and I’m proud of the creators for keeping it gay. Guy Branum, Miss Lawrence, Ts Madison, Dot-Marie Jones, Jim Rash, Eve Lindley, Monica Raymund, Guillermo Diaz, and Amanda Bearse all play such fun roles as the amazing spectrum of LGBTQIA+ people that exist. I’m pretty sure there’s a representative to each letter there except the last two. And again as much as I loved the movie I have to point out flaws as it still follows every single point of the rom com mold by the end even if they get there by rearranging some of the points. But Bros is definitely the movie you should see this weekend. Smile and Bros are both great movies but if you had to pick one I’d say pick Bros, you won’t come out disturbed and thinking about a bunch of suicide. I’m giving Bros an 8/10, very funny but not breaking the mold of what to expect. But I still most definitely recommend giving it a watch. -Tyler.


RATE THIS REVIEW

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

0 views0 comments

Tyler Jenkins

Link

rnixon37

Link

Sohan Sahoo

Link

bottom of page