top of page
Search

I Wanna Dance With Somebody: Another Average Biopic That Does Not Do The Most Justice

Updated: Mar 1, 2023


Reviews by:

  • @tylersnerdy_review

RATE THIS MOVIE

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

I will admit that I didn’t know much about Whitney Houston going into this movie, her height of fame was before I was born and during my youth when I was forced to listen to only country. But I have of course heard a few of her songs and heard a couple details about her life from the news when she died. I would like to say at the start here though, they do not shine a light on the fact that Whitney’s daughter Bobbi Kristina died 3 years after her in the exact same way, “drug related drowning”. Whitney Houston: I Wanna Dance With Somebody is a long movie that still manages to speed through large portions of a troubled persons life. As much as I absolutely loved Naomi Ackie as Whitney, they didn’t do a good job changing her appearance through the years and have her jump years often with only minimal help in saying what year we’re in. Nafessa Williams is fantastic as a person I had no idea was so close to Whitney. But I have to ask, is it common knowledge that they were together? Was she Bi? Ashton Sanders is good here but he’s not a good Bobbi Brown especially near the end. Stanley Tucci is amazing in everything no matter what and that does not change here. Tamara Tunie and Clarke Peters are good as her parents but not enough time is spent building the relationships and showing the dynamic between the three of them. Honestly a lot of time is wasted on development of relationships, even Whitney’s relationship with drugs. She’s only shown using them a few times and the rest of her problem comes from people talking about it. I don’t know how I feel about the ending wrapping back around to a longer version of the opening piece. As great as I Wanna Dance With Somebody is as a song, this movie feels less about the themes of that song and more about the themes of the medley she plays at the AMAs. This isn’t a bad movie, I did really like it but I think they dropped the ball trying to encompass such a massive career into the constraints of a single movie. Whitney Houston meant a lot to a lot of people and that kind of pressure to keep being at the top is not explored the way it could have been. But I’d still recommend checking it out if you can. This is a good 7/10 for me. -Tyler.


RATE THIS REVIEW

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

2 views0 comments

Tyler Jenkins

Link

rnixon37

Link

Sohan Sahoo

Link

bottom of page