top of page
Search

Marvel's Midnight Suns: An Overlooked and Fantastic Game

Updated: Feb 8, 2023



Reviews by:


RATE THIS VIDEOGAME

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

Alright, I’ve been gone a minute, that’s because I’ve been in hardcore gamer mode trying to beat Marvel’s newest game Midnight Suns. Despite the fact that I quite enjoyed the Avengers game, I feel like it’s flop made everyone completely skip the Guardians of the Galaxy game and now this one. I have not heard many people speak about either but they’re so good. Midnight Suns assembles a truly amazing group of playable heroes that allows you to somewhat create your own brand new Marvel superhero, The Hunter. They obviously wanted you to pick the female form of the hero but at least they use gender neutral terms the whole game. What this game does well is that it genuinely feels like a crossover comic event. There’s the main story and then there’s the missable tie-ins and they repeat certain things all the time because they assume you missed a chance to hear it somewhere else. It all feels so grand with three teams coming together, Avengers, X-Men, and Midnight Suns. For me though the best thing about the game is that it feels like a truly lived in universe. They waste no time telling you who characters are because this game was made for comic readers. There are so many Easter eggs vaguely establishing where in the time line this takes place, like they’ve already fought Ultron, Thanos, Apocalypse, Galactus and more. And now the teams come together to deal with the biggest threat to Earth so far, Lilith the Mother of Demons. Blade, Sister Grimm, The Scarlet Witch, Ghost Rider (Robbie Reyes), Magik, Iron Man, Captain Marvel, Doctor Strange, Spider-Man, Captain America, Wolverine, and Hulk come together with The Caretaker, Agatha Harkness, and The Hunter to kick demon ass in a card centered, turn-based, strategy RPG game. I was hesitant going in because the only card game like this I had played before was Gwent in The Witcher but you catch on quickly and end up having a lot of fun. But I can see the style not being for everyone but I implore you to try. I had so much fun with this game and I’m very excited for our DLC characters; Deadpool, Morbius, Venom, and Storm. This is a must play for comic readers and average Marvel fans alike. I’m giving this an 8/10. -Tyler.



RATE THIS REVIEW

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

3 views0 comments

Tyler Jenkins

Link

rnixon37

Link

Sohan Sahoo

Link

bottom of page