top of page
Search

My Policeman: A Good Movie Dragged Down By A Bad Performance

Updated: Feb 28, 2023


Reviews by:

  • @tylersnerdy_review

RATE THIS MOVIE

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

I had no idea that My Policeman was going to be an Amazon Prime Video original film so I was very excited to sit at home and dive right into it. I’m so sorry Harry Styles but I really think you should look into getting an acting coach. You were good in Dunkirk, good with a few lines in Eternals, so so in Don’t Worry Darling, but had me laughing at some serious scenes here. Really my only complaint about this movie is Harry but it knocks off a good amount of points. Emma Corrin and David Dawson do most of the heavy lifting here as they go through this movie delivering really good scenes. Gina McKee, Rupert Everett, and Linus Roache are fantastic as the older versions of the main characters and I kinda wanted to see more of them over the younger cast. I will say, my other complaint is that I don’t get why Marion stays with Tom after it becomes very apparent that she was aware of the affair after looking completely perplexed reading the diary in the later time. I had no idea being gay was illegal in England in the 50’s, I definitely know it is and expect it to be in America. It was quite a shock to me when the police catch a man about to start a blow job and then beat him and arrest him. I have seen a lot of gay movies with a closeted guy where they get pretty detailed with the straight sex and then either completely skip the gay sex or make it really hard to see or don’t show much of it at all. But I’ll give this film props for flipping it, the straight stuff here is boring and unsexy and the gay stuff is very nice. I’d be curious to learn if Harry used a butt double or not (wondering for a friend of course). This film doesn’t pretend to hide anything really and any twists are pretty obvious or can be figured out right before they happen. Overall it’s a pretty decent film on forbidden love and living a true life but Harry’s acting really brings it down. I’d give this a good 7/10, check it out and decide for yourself. Not a very long movie and definitely worth a watch, if only just to make fun of Harry (again I love you Harry but let’s get some help please). -Tyler.


RATE THIS REVIEW

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

1 view0 comments

Tyler Jenkins

Link

rnixon37

Link

Sohan Sahoo

Link

bottom of page