top of page
Search

Our Flag Means Death: Peak Taika Waititi Comedy Yet Again

Updated: Feb 10, 2023


Reviews by:

  • @tylernerdy_review

RATE THIS SERIES

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

At the request of one of my best friends I binged all of Taika Waititi’s newest series Our Flag Means Death over on HBO max. This show was just a heartwarming delight of 10 episodes that does what Taika is best at, merging touching moments with laugh out loud funny moments. Rhys Darby gives a fun take on the Gentleman Pirate Steed Bonnet and his character grew more than I thought he would. Joel Fry, Samson Kayo, Nathan Foad, Matthew Maher, Kristian Nairn, Samba Schutte, Ewen Bremner, Vico Ortiz, and Nat Faxon play such a great, diverse, and fun crew. They all get a good moment to shine and have really good side plots in just 10 episodes at 30 minutes. Taika’s Blackbeard is so much fun and I’m really curious what they’re going to do with him next season. Con O’Neill Guz Khan, and David Fane are a great crew for Blackbeard and I love that Taika continues to give his New Zealanders a platform. Rory Kinnear play twin villains pretty well that have some disturbing shocks to them. There are some great surprise comedy cameos throughout as well. There is so much representation for the show, I was not expecting so much LGBTQIA+ content so thanks for that, made me so happy. Taika continues to be one of the masters of comedy right now and I can’t wait to see his work on Thor: Love and Thunder, Thor: Ragnarok is one of my favorite MCU films, Jojo Rabbit and What We Do in the Shadows are some of my favorite films, and now both What We Do in the Shadows and Our Flag Means Death are some of my favorite shows. This is such a quick and fun watch and a gem for HBO max, please give this a watch if you can. 8/10 on this one, only because they bite off more they can chew VFX wise. They have some great sets, they just use way too much green screen for what I assume was a pretty small budget. I admire the ambition and I hope they can achieve it in season two. There’s a big cliff hanger that I need some answers to right now!! Other than that, this first season was a pure delight and I really can’t wait to see more. Thankfully more Taika content isn’t too far away, just give us that trailer please! I assume WWDITS season 4 starts soon as well. I’m glad to be watching more shows again! -Tyler.


RATE THIS REVIEW

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

2 views0 comments

Tyler Jenkins

Link

rnixon37

Link

Sohan Sahoo

Link

bottom of page