top of page
Search

Sherlock: A Modern Take on a Old Icon

Updated: Feb 10, 2023


Reviews by:

  • @thereviewofeverything

RATE THIS SERIES

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

Starring: Benedict Cumberbatch, Martin Freeman, Mark Gatiss, Rupert Graves and Andrew Scott.


In this modern take on Arthur Conan Doyle's famous detective, Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson solve crimes in central London in the mid 2000's.


I can't remember what made me decide to watch this series but I'm really glad I did. I'd never been big into Sherlock Holmes, the only movie I'd seen was Holmes & Watson which doesn't really count. If anyone else wants to give the whole Sherlock Holmes franchise a try, I'd say the BBC series is a good place to start.


I think this has one of the greatest pilot episodes ever. I'd never been so hooked on a show before.

It's genuinely very smart and witty. Most crime shows have fairly obvious endings and even if I couldn't guess them they're aren't very outside of the box but Sherlock doesn't fall into that category.

The cases are actually intriguing and surprisingly logical. I love the way Sherlock analyzes people because I've never seen that done before.

John Watson was really good in the show as well as the more humane side of the partnership and was very funny to watch.

Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman did excellently in their roles and even though I haven't watched RDJ's Holmes yet, I can't imagine anyone else playing the characters.

There are a few things I don't like however. Jim Moriarty seems...kind of like an idiot. Well, not an idiot per say but he doesn't seem intelligent. They kind of forced him into a Joker-like role and it doesn't work. Andrew Scott was good in the role from Season 2 and onwards but at the start I didn't like him (which annoys me a little because as an Irish person I want Irish actors to get a good rep but if it's not working, it's not working).

And my other problem is Season 3. It's very confusing for me to rate it because though that season was hilarious and I couldn't stop laughing every episode, it didn't really feel like Sherlock. They made him a bit of a buffoon and not very Sherlock-y if that makes any sense.

But then Season 4 - what a finale! It was so emotional, first Mary, then Sherlock in ep2 and finding out about Redbeard?


It almost made me cry. It was so sad! And the music really helped! I also forgot to mention S2E3 was a brilliant episode, my second favourite. The phone call...ugh, the waterworks were going like Niagara falls. A truly intelligent and excellent show. 9/10


RATE THIS REVIEW

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

11 views0 comments

Tyler Jenkins

Link

rnixon37

Link

Sohan Sahoo

Link

bottom of page