top of page
Search

The Estate: A Funny Film to Turn Your Brain Off To

Updated: Mar 1, 2023


Reviews by:

  • @tylersnerdy_review

RATE THIS MOVIE

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

Many studios seem to have abandoned the straight up comedy for comedy’s sake style movie and that really upsets me. I had so much fun watching The Estate and I had an added bonus of seeing it in a completely empty theater which means I got to laugh as much and as loud as I wanted. Is it dumb? Yes. But is it funny? Hell yes. I haven’t had to say this in awhile but sometimes the critic brain needs to just shut the fuck up, turn off, and have a good god damn time. Once you do that, The Estate really opens up. Toni Collette makes this movie completely worth it on her own, I had to ask myself how much of the budget went to getting her. Anna Faris dipped on the last season of Mom to focus on movies and now I want to see more of her, she worked surprisingly well opposite of Collette. Kathleen Turner must have had a hell of a time on set laying in a bed for most of her scenes, she hates all of them so much which makes her so much fun. David Duchovny, Rosemarie DeWitt, Ron Livingston, Patricia French, Danny Vinson and Keyla Monterroso Mejia all round out a really fun cast that I really loved seeing together. Of course, it’s really hard to like any of these people using their dying Aunt for money, but their fight for her affection will leave you laughing and shocked at the lengths that they would go to. I don’t want to spend too much more time here because it’s not some masterpiece but it is a fun movie worth checking out once it’s streaming. I think it’ll be a lot more enjoyable at home honestly. A great cast come together with good jokes to make a decent comedy film, The Estate gets a 7/10 from me. -Tyler.


RATE THIS REVIEW

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

0 views0 comments

Tyler Jenkins

Link

rnixon37

Link

Sohan Sahoo

Link

bottom of page