top of page
Search

The Farewell: It wasn't Extremely Funny

Updated: Mar 1, 2023


Reviews by:

  • @thereviewofeverything

RATE THIS MOVIE

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

Starring: Awkwafina, Zhao Shu-zhen, Tzi Ma, Diana Lin, Yongbo Jiang, Aoi Mizuhara, Lu Hong and Chen Han.


A Chinese family plan a fake wedding to see their dying grandmother - who is the only one that doesn't know about her unfortunate fate.


I only watched this movie because of Awkwafina as I really like her. It was weird seeing her in an emotional drama though, she's more comedy. But that doesn't mean she didn't knock it out if the park.


I actually really enjoyed this film. It was an interesting plot.

The acting was wonderful, like I said, Awkwafina can do more than comedies. She perfectly encapsulated how someone would feel in her situation - stuck between about to cry and having to act completely fine. She did a good job.


The music surprised me. I think it matched the movie well. I really don't know how to explain it. The violin playing abruptly added a sort of humourous aspect to it despite the movie being quite sad (since the movie is a tragicomic) and just nice in general. Kind of like if Umbrella Academy met Knives Out.


I didn't mind almost the whole movie being in Mandarin, if anything it made me pay more attention otherwise I would miss what they say.


I will say it wasn't extremely funny. I mean, when it told a joke I did laugh it just didn't tell many which is still fine it's just the other tragicomic films I've seen still have me laughing a lot.


A nice watch. 7.5/10


RATE THIS REVIEW

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 


2 views0 comments

Tyler Jenkins

Link

rnixon37

Link

Sohan Sahoo

Link

bottom of page