top of page
Search

The Walking Dead, Chapter 8 - Made to Suffer

Updated: Feb 6, 2023


Reviews by:

  • @art_fanatic_313

RATE THIS COMIC BOOK

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

This chapter starts almost where the sixth one ended, with the Governor being found mutilated. With the help of an ex-doctor he gets better and he orders everyone to start looking for the prison that Rick and the others live in. Eventually they find them and attack them. Mainly thanks to Andrea, the people in the prison are able to defend themselves very well, until the people from Woodbury retreat. During the fight, Rick gets shot very badly, but he survives. After the first attack, many people from the group decide to leave, in order to be safe and Michonne and Tyreese go after the people from Woodbury, in order to kill some of them and scare them off, but unfortunately they get captured very easily.

I’ll stop my plot summary here, because many main characters die in this chapter and I don’t want to spoil anything.


This volume was really full of action and violence. It was well written, but that doesn’t change the fact that I’m not a big fan of violence in comics and movies. Thankfully, there were also many heated debates about strategies and safety and things like that. These debates/arguments/conversations were very interesting and probably one of my favorite things in this chapter. The characters are very well written and at this point I really like almost all of the main characters. A character that I don’t like is the Governor. He’s without a doubt very well written, but that doesn’t change the fact that he’s extremely hateable. One of the worst things about him in my opinion is his absolutely disgusting relationship with his zombie daughter. That being said, he’s surprisingly good at coming up with strategies and manipulating people. He really is a smart person. I really liked in this chapter how strong Andrea and Dale’s relationship is. I really love both of these characters and they are perfect for each other. My main problem with this chapter is that some of the deaths didn’t happen very organically. I felt like Kirkman wanted to kill a lot of the characters, not because it’d benefit the story, but because it’d keep the readers interested and because he was tired of having to write all these characters. Still, while that annoyed me, this was a very good chapter filled with a lot of action.


The artwork in this chapter is good, but not as good as in some of the previous ones. I got the feeling that the artist(s) got a bit lazy. My main problem is that some lines were way thicker than they should’ve been. That being said, I still like a lot how expressive the characters’ faces are and how well drawn the fight scenes are.

Overall, this was a good chapter with a lot of action. It was definitely captivating and many things happened that’ll definitely affect the whole series moving forward. More than anything else, this chapter felt like the climax of the first part of the series.


9/10



RATE THIS REVIEW

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 


5 views0 comments

Tyler Jenkins

Link

rnixon37

Link

Sohan Sahoo

Link

bottom of page