top of page
Search

The Woman King: A Powerful Look At An Overlooked Portion of History

Updated: Feb 28, 2023


Reviews by:

  • @tylersnerdy_review

RATE THIS MOVIE

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

If I had to pick a few words to describe The Woman King they would have to be; Fierce, badass, empowering, gorgeous, and amazing. I had such an absolute blast watching this movie, from start to finish I was engrossed in every second. Some really great world building was done very fast because sadly, myself included, not many people know of the Kingdom of Dahomey or the Agojie Warriors that defended that Kingdom. But I bet they’ll know now. Viola Davis, Lashana Lynch, and Sheila Atim lead the warriors wonderfully, shining in scene after scene. Thuso Mbedu plays opposite Davis and Lynch masterfully and quickly makes room for herself among them. John Boyega is finally given a solid role. As much as I love Finn and how Boyega played the character he never got much time to shine, but here he gets his due. Hero Finnes Tiffin is so transformed that I didn’t know it was him until after the movie when I looked at the cast list. And Jordan Bolger does great alongside both Tiffin and Mbedu but I found myself caring least for his story line. Jimmy Odukoya was a very interesting villain that manages to hold his own multiple times. This movie has one of the most stunning choreographed battles scenes that I’ve seen in a long time. Everywhere you looked a badass woman was doing a badass thing. As much as I wish these women were perfect I think it was a great choice to show them struggle and even die at times, they are amazing and badass but the enemy is to be feared. From glorious opening scene to gorgeous closing shot this film crams a lot of movie between the two points and I’m almost certain you’ll love it as much as I did. I can’t wait until I can own this movie and watch again. Get out there and see The Woman King on the biggest screen you can, it deserves the time and the money. Now for the sake of full honesty and clarity so you can make up your own mind, a person in my row did fall asleep watching this. So expect many dialogue heavy scenes and court politics on top of all the great action. I’m giving this a big 10/10 and the second spot, right after Everything Everywhere All At Once and right before Nope, for this year. I really think there’s something here for all. -Tyler.


RATE THIS REVIEW

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

2 views0 comments

Tyler Jenkins

Link

rnixon37

Link

Sohan Sahoo

Link

bottom of page