top of page
Search

Till: A Deeply Moving Look At A Horrible Piece of American Past

Updated: Feb 28, 2023


Reviews by:

  • @tylersnerdy_review

RATE THIS MOVIE

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

The last film my AMC finally decided to play was Till. Granted, it did actually play before and it was three showings on a single day that I was busy for. But it came back and I’m so happy it did. The story of Emmett Till is one I heard in school ages ago that really stuck with me as a kid. The brutality of racism inflicted on an innocent boy is not quick to leave your head. For those unfamiliar with the story, Emmett was a young black boy from Chicago who went down south to visit his cousins in Mississippi. While there he “insulted” a white woman and whistled at her causing her to freak out which leads to a gang of white men hunting Emmett down. After finding him they beat him, shoot him in the head, and toss his body into the river. When his bloated corpse is pulled from the river his mother chooses to let the world see the body and really kick starts the Civil Rights movement. Having seen the real pictures of his body I feel horrible for the makeup artists that had to stare at those photos to faithfully and intricately recreate his corpse. Danielle Deadwyler delivers one of the most powerful performances I have ever seen, the grief she is able to portray left me speechless. Jalyn Hall is a wonderful Emmett and does such a good job portraying him as the happy kid he was. Frankie Faison and Whoppi Goldberg both do so good as grieving Grandparents but also support figures for Emmett’s mom. There are so many well filmed scenes, most notably however is the first time we see Emmett’s corpse. It was a real question for me whether or not they would show the body, how much they would show, and if I even wanted to see it. But of course they show it, that’s the whole point, it needs to be seen. Till is easily one of the most powerful and moving movies of not just the year but of all time. I have no choice but to give it a resounding 10/10 for meeting all the expectations I had for it. I would definitely recommend it, even to those squeamish to gore because I would also recommend looking up the real pictures before watching. They need to be seen, we need to look at what they did to Emmett so we can see the lengths these horrible people are willing to go to. -Tyler.


RATE THIS REVIEW

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

0 views0 comments

Tyler Jenkins

Link

rnixon37

Link

Sohan Sahoo

Link

bottom of page