top of page
Search

Triangle of Sadness: A Hell of a Time With A Lot to Say

Updated: Mar 1, 2023


Reviews by:

  • @tylersnerdy_review

RATE THIS MOVIE

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

The next movie my AMC finally decided to play is one I have been very much looking forward to, Ruben Östlund’s film Triangle of Sadness. I have to say this at the start, I was really not expecting this to be the type of movie that actually says the title in the movie let alone one that says it in the first scene. Still trying to connect the meaning of the title to that line of dialogue however. I’d love to hear ideas from people smarter than me (just about anyone). Harris Dickinson is great here as one of four characters I found myself liking. His character just seems so sweet and I wanted so desperately to sweep him away from that embarrassing date scene at the start. Woody Harrelson is so fantastic for his very short time in the movie, it’s just his voice for so long and then maybe ten minutes with his face as well. But I loved his interactions with Zlatko Burić’s character. Charlbi Dean is on par with Jameela Jamil for crafting an incredibly unlikeable influencer character, she does such a great job and actually gets so much development. Dolly de Leon is just the best, her character is phenomenal and you will love her so much very fast. Vicki Berlin, Henrik Dorsin, Iris Berben, Sunnyi Melles, Oliver Ford Davies, Jean-Christophe Folly, and Amanda Walker round out an exceptional cast that make this movie feel so alive and interesting. I really was not expecting a few of the places this film went to and they answer a big question I had in one of the best ways possible which always delights. My only gripe would be the fairly open ended ending because much like Tár, despite the length of the film it seemed to zoom by. The two and a half hour run time seems daunting at first but it really isn’t that bad in the end. I’m giving Triangle of Sadness a solid 9/10 and a recommendation to see it at any theater that will be playing it. I had so much fun with this one and really can’t wait to see it again. I have a particular friend I’m exited to show it to. I could see this not being for everyone though so be warned that it is pretty fuckin gross about half way in. Just watch the trailer and expect to see a lot more of the grossness you see there. -Tyler.

RATE THIS REVIEW

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

3 views0 comments

Tyler Jenkins

Link

rnixon37

Link

Sohan Sahoo

Link

bottom of page