top of page
Search

Halsey: If I Can't Have Love, I Want Power.

Updated: Feb 4, 2023




Reviews by:

RATE THIS ALBUM

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

Wow, for me this has to be Halsey’s strongest album to date. The amount of lyrical growth in their song writing and the themes of this album is incredibly deep and well structured. This album tackles the deepest fears of motherhood and reflects on Halsey’s flaws and tells a story. Whilst also highlighting things on what is viewed as the proper way to raise a child in today’s society. It has both a political message, but also feels deeply personal to Halsey at the same time.


I think their sound is also evolving excellently, still having that essence of Halsey with the alternative sound, but I also think this album brings more of a more of a mix of grounded production and more alternative rock which I loved. It gave the songs so much atmosphere and impact, and I hope going forward Halsey continues with this sound.


My Favourite songs ranked:

1. Girl is a gun

2. I am not a woman, I’m a God

3. Whispers

4. The tradition

5. Lilith

6. Darling

7. Easier than lying

8. You asked for this

9. Honey

10. Bells in Santa Fe

11. 1121

12. The Lighthouse

13. Ya’aburnee


Overall, If I can’t have love, I want Power is Halsey’s strongest album to date. Showing a growth in their sound, but also it is the most lyrically deep albums I have heard in a while. Really showing a lot of growth from Halsey. Delivering both a strong political message on motherhood, as well as feeling very personal to Halsey as an artist.


Overall score 9.5/10



RATE THIS REVIEW

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 


1 view0 comments

Tyler Jenkins

Link

rnixon37

Link

Sohan Sahoo

Link

bottom of page