top of page
Search

Kaleo: Surface Sounds

Updated: Feb 5, 2023



Reviews by:

RATE THIS ALBUM

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

Unique. The best way to describe this band.


Rock band Kaleo, is an Icelandic band formed in 2012 in Mosfellsbær. The lead singer and guitarist JJ (Jökull Júlíusson) is just a fundamentally brilliant singer, his dynamic control and range is amazing, he has such a versatile voice, he can go from a soft and slow song like 'into my mother's arms' to a powerful and punchy rock song like 'break my baby' which might I add is my favourite riff on the album.

'Break my baby' is just such a great song, it's tight and energetic, and really shows how brilliant a singer JJ is, it was the first Kaleo song I heard and it made me listen to the whole album because I loved this one song so much, the solo slaps hard too.


'Hey Gringo' is kinda a weird song but not too left of centre, is about a Mexican guy called Gringo, maybe it's @janky_review , doubt it though, honestly I don't know, this song is just slappin'. Bassline is great, the lock-in with the drums is slippery, in the best way possible.

'Skinny' is probably one of my favourite songs at the moment, I like the message about it, about expectations, I think it's well phrased, and JJ has made it so cynical and blatant, just works, you know.


Yeah so Kaleo, awesome band, bunch of legends, and JJ is pretty hot ngl, like he's fuckable ain't gonna lie. Mhm yeah listen to them they slap. Don't know why you're still reading, listen to Kaleo.



RATE THIS REVIEW

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

1 view0 comments

Tyler Jenkins

Link

rnixon37

Link

Sohan Sahoo

Link

bottom of page