top of page
Search

Nessa Barrett: Pretty Poison EP.

Updated: Feb 4, 2023



Reviews by:

RATE THIS ALBUM

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 

This is a very strong debut EP. Nessa for me is one of the strongest people from Tik Tok to do music. The EP tackles a lot of themes and different parts of Nessa’s life, including escaping an emotionally abusive relationship and the effect it had on her mental health afterwards. I think the structure of the EP is linear and stays consistent throughout, offering a hopeful sign of her mental health getting better towards the end coming full circle from the start of the EP.


I also think that in terms of production Nessa has already found her sound which is rare for her first project. The dark and edgy lyrics, and the alternative rock sound really suits her voice well, I also liked that every song sounded different to one another and focused on a different element of the main themes. It didn’t feel repetitive and didn’t go stale like a lot of albums and projects do about halfway through. Each song had a purpose.


My Favourite songs ranked:

1. I hope ur miserable until ur dead

2. Scare Myself

3. Pretty Poison

4. I wanna Die

5. Keep me afraid

6. Grave

7. Sincerely


Overall, Nessa Barrett makes her transition from Tik Tok to music and does so successfully. With a coherent and thought-provoking EP that tells a great story about her mental health. Nessa has found her sound and I can see myself enjoying her future projects.


Overall score 9/10



RATE THIS REVIEW

  • 6

  • 5

  • 4

  • 3


 


3 views0 comments

Tyler Jenkins

Link

rnixon37

Link

Sohan Sahoo

Link

bottom of page